Welcome to the Billy Mitchell Chapter

San Antonio, TX

 The Billy Mitchell Chapter (BMC) in San Antonio, Texas, is a member of the Mountain-Western Region of the Association of Old Crows, Inc. (AOC) and the AOC Educational Foundations, Inc. (AEF). Located in the nation's highest concentration of Information Operators, the chapter has an active membership of 300 military and civilian personnel with numerous corporate alliances.



 About the Billy Mitchell Chapter

The Billy Mitchell Chapter (BMC) was chartered in 1968 in San Antonio, Texas. It was the 24th Chapter of the AOC, and the first BMC President was Bob Frodge. BMC members that helped to establish the chapter were Dak Proctor, Earl Davis, P.K. Weir, Jim Daughtery, Rich Curtin, Ed Bronaugh, Bob Weikle, Hugh  Spence, and Jack Howard.

Since its beginning the BMC chapter has been an active member of the San Antonio community by supporting numerous events such as the Alamo Regional Science and Engineering Fair with providing judges and awards to the category winners.   The BMC also supported many Air Force functions through the years to include the USAF Security Services, Electronic Security Command (ESC), Air Intelligence Agency (AIA), and now Air Force Intelligence, Surveillance, Reconnaissance Agency (AFISRA) Airman of the Year Awards and the sensor Olympics competition.  The BMC has supported many ROTC programs at the college and high school levels with awards recognizing outstanding students.  The BMC also has an active scholarship program encouraging local students and the Service's enlisted personnel to seek college degrees at local universities and colleges in engineering and computer science.  Since the scholarship program began in 1986 the BMC has awarded over $356,000 to deserving students.

Most of the funding for the BMC was raised through the FIESTACROW symposium which was held every odd year from 1977 through 2011.  FIESTACROW brought together international, national, Service, Congressional and academic EW/cyber/IO policy makers and technical experts for a meeting of the minds and an exchange of information in a friendly atmosphere. FIESTACROW was always held in conjunction with the San Antonio Fiesta celebration.  It included a welcome party and tickets to the San Antonio River Parade, a premier event during the 10 days of celebration. Each year the BMC participated in the River Parade by sponsoring a float in the parade and winning the “Best Overall Float” in 2003.

In addition to the FIESTACROW symposium the BMC has always had an active luncheon program with speakers on current EW/cyber activities and functions.  Most recently, the BMC has supported the National Collegiate Cyber Defense Competition held in San Antonio and provided scholarships to the local Cyber Patriot winners, which is a national high school level competition.

The above mentioned activities and the dedicated men and women of the BMC contributed to the BMC winning the AOC Chapter of the Year award many times for both the large and the medium chapter category.  The BMC was named Chapter of the Year (Large Chapter Category) for 15 consecutive years from 1993 to 2008.  The BMC members have served on the AOC Board of Directors and many have been recognized for their contributions to the AOC by being awarded the Gold Medal, the Silver Medal, Life Time Achievements Awards, and numerous competitive awards.